Andreas Dresen's Silver Bear winner Grill Point (Halbe Treppe) (pictured) has won the German film critics' Best Feature Film prize.

In addition, Hans Weingartner's much lauded White Noise (Das Weisse Rauschen) was named Best Feature Debut, with Best Actor honours going to the film's lead Daniel Bruehl (who was also recognised for his performance in Zoltan Spirandelli's Vaya Con Dios). .

The other prize-winners for German productions of 2002 were:

Best Actress: Martina Gedeck (Mostly Martha)
Best Screenplay: Almut Getto (Do Fish Do It')
Best Visual Design: Frank Griebe (Heaven)
Best Editing: Hana Muellner (A Map Of The Heart)
Best Film Score: Dieter Schleip (A Map Of The Heart)
Best Documentary: Rivers And Tides (dir: Thomas Riedelsheimer)
Best Short Film: Neulich 3 (dir: Jochen Kuhn)
Best Experimental Film: Das Schlafende Maedchen (dir: Corinna Schnitt)

The association's 330-strong membership voted the winners for the first four categories - Best Feature, Best Feature Debut, Best Actor/Actress - while the winners in the remaining categories were decided by specially convened juries.

The association's annual "Prize of German Film Criticism" will be presented this Thursday evening (January 16) during the Max Ophuels Film Festival in Saarbruecken.