Halle Berry, who won lastyear's best actress Oscar for Monster's Ball, will serve as the honorary chair for the 2003 IFPIndependent Spirit Awards. 'Halle Berry has been incredibly generous toindependent film with her talent and with her support,' Dawn Hudson,executive director of IFP/Los Angeles, said in a statement.

Berry also won a SAG Award,the Berlin Silver Bear Award and was named Best Actress by the National Boardof Review in 2002 for her role in Monster's Ball. She recently starred in the James Bond picture, DieAnother Day, and will be seen in theupcoming sci-fi sequel, X-Men 2.

Other honorary presenters atthe 2003 IFP Independent Spirit Awards, which take place on Santa Monica beachon Mar 22, include Adrien Brody and Daniel Day-Lewis - both best actor Oscarnominees this year - Robert Duvall, Anthony LaPaglia, Carrie-Anne Moss, MekhiPhifer, Parker Posey, Sissy Spacek, Mena Suvari, and Isaiah Washington.Director John Waters will return as the master of ceremonies.