John Lasseter will receive the Producers Guild Of America’s (PGA) 2010 David O Selznick Achievement Award In Motion Pictures.

The Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios chief creative officer and principal creative advisor at Walt Disney Imagineering becomes the first producer of animated films to receive the honour and will collect his award on January 24, 2010, in Hollywood.

Lasseter was the co-recipient of the PGA’s first Vanguard Award in 2002. Previous Selznick Award winners, presented in recognition of an outstanding body of work, include Clint Eastwood, Billy Wilder, Robert Evans, Jerry Bruckheimer, Laura Ziskin and last year’s recipients, Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall.

“John Lasseter is a uniquely talented producer with the rare combination of technical ingenuity and creative vision,” PGA Awards co-chairs David Friendly and Laurence Mark said. “He’s a wonderful storyteller, consistently displaying extraordinary skill, humanity and grace.”