Jean-Pierre Jeunet's Amelie grabbed the $20,000 grand prize at the 36th Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, which closed on Saturday 14 July.

Jeunet's comedy about the adventures of a Parisian girl stood out from a slate of films dominated by darker themes this year, including drug addiction and Alzheimer's.

Special jury prize went to Hi, Tereska, by Robert Glinski of Poland, while Ibolya Fekete took the Best Director award for his film, Chico, a joint Hungarian-German-Croatian co-production.

Viveka Seldahl and Sven Wollter received best actress and actor prizes for their roles together as a couple struggling with the husband's Alzheimer's disease in A Song For Martin (En sang för Martin), a Danish-Swedish co-production directed by Bille August.

Unfinished Song (Qateh-Ye Natamam) by Iranian Maziar Miri Violet Perfume (Perfume de violetas) by Mexican Maryse Sistach of Mexico received special mentions from the 8-member jury chaired by Polish director Krzysztof Zanussi.

Other prizes awarded at the Festival's closing ceremony included two prizes for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to World Cinema to: actor Ben Kingsley, who conducted a workshop for young actors at the Festival, and Czech director Otakar Vavra. Sir Michael Caine was also scheduled to accept the award, but the actor cancelled his attendance at the last minute, after production on Boswell For The Defense came to an abrupt halt in London.


Grand Prix - Crystal Globe
Amelie from Montmartre (Le fabuleux destin d'Amelie Poulain)
Dir: Jean-Pierre Jeunet. France

Special Jury Prize
Hi, Tereska (Czesæ Tereska)
Dir: Robert Gliñski. Poland

Best Director:
Ibolya Fekete - Chico
Hungary, Germany, Croatia, Chile

Best Actress:
Viveka Seldahl - A Song for Martin (En sang för Martin)
Denmark, Sweden

Best Actor
Sven Wollter - A Song for Martin (En sang för Martin)
Denmark, Sweden

Special Jury Mentions
Unfinished Song (Qateh-Ye Natamam)
Dir. Maziar Miri. Iran

Prizes For Outstanding Artistic Contribution to World Cinema:
Ben Kingsley, Great Britain
Otakar Vávra, Czech Republic

Karlovy Vary Region Prize
Marie-Josee Nat, France

Karlovy Vary City Prize
Bigas Luna, Spain

Mlada Front Dnes Audience Prize
Dir: Andrew Adamson, Vicky Jenson