Clara Law’s Like A Dream and Leon Dai’s No Puedo Vivir Sin Ti head the nominations for this year’s Golden Horse Awards with nine and eight nods respectively.

Like A Dream was nominated for best film, best director, best actor for Daniel Wu’s performance and best actress for Yolanda Yuan, among other nominations. No Puedo’s haul includes best film, best director and best actor for Chen Wen-Pin.

Mainland Chinese filmmaker Guan Hu’s Cow racked up seven nominations, including best director and best actor for Huang Bo, while Yang Yang, directed by Taiwan’s Cheng Yu-chieh, scored six.

Also competing for best film are Tsai Ming-liang’s Face, Guan Hu’s Cow and Ning Hao’s Crazy Racer. Tsai and Hu were also nominated for best director.

Films produced in mainland China or backed by mainland film companies received a level of recognition from the jury this year. The nominations list includes 11 films that were either produced or co-produced by the mainland including Huayi Brothers’ The Message which received five nominations; China Film Group’s Forever Enthralled and Ning Hao’s Crazy Racer both with four and Polybona’s Wheat with three.

No films are selected in the category for Best Animation category, which is the only surprise in the nominations list.

The Golden Horse Awards is generally seen as a high honour for Chinese-language films across the Chinese-speaking regions of Taiwan, Hong Kong, mainlandvChina and Singapore.

The jury of is composed of 14 film professionals including Hong Kong director Stanley Kwan, mainland Chinese filmmaker Wu Tianming and actor Taiwanese actor Wu Hsing-kuo.

The 46th Golden Horse Awards will be presented on Nov 28 invTaiwan’s Taipei County. 


Best Feature Film

No Pudeo Vivir Sin Ti – Luminoso Film, Partyzoo Film

Cow – United Star

Crazy Racer – Beijing Film Studio, Warner China Film HG Corp, Beijing Guoli Changsheng Movies & TV Productions

Face – Homegreen Films

Like A Dream – PolyBona Film Distribution, Arc Light Film Company, Bona Entertainment, Lunar Films

Best Director

LeonDai — No Pudeo Vivir Sin Ti

Guan Hu — Cow

Tsai Ming Liang — Face

Clara Law — Like A Dream

Best Leading Actor

Chen Wen-Pin — No Pudeo Vivir Sin Ti

Nick Cheung — The Beast Stalker

Huang Bo — Cow

Daniel Wu — Like A Dream

Best Leading Actress

Sandrine Pinna – Yang Yang

Yolanda Yuan – Like A Dream

Zhou Xun – The Message

Li Bingbing – The Message

Best Supporting Actor

Cai Zhen Nan — Ending Cut

Huang Chien-Wei – Yang Yang

Zhang Han Yu — The Equation of Love and Death

Wang Xue Qi — Forever Enthralled

Best Supporting Actress

Liou Yiin Shang — Sleeping With Her

Lu Yi-Ching — A Placeof One’s Own

Wai Ying Hung — At the End of Daybreak

Zhang Ziyi — Forever Enthralled

Best New Performer

Chen Wen-Pin – No Pudeo Vivir Sin Ti

Her Sy-Huoy – Yang Yang

Yu Shaoqun – Forever Enthralled

Michelle Chen – Hear Me

Best Original Screenplay

LeonDai, Chen Wen-Pin — No Pudeo Vivir Sin Ti

Cui Siwei, Xing Aina, Wang Hongwei, Wang Yao, Zhou Zhiyong, Yue Xiaojun, Zhang Cheng — Crazy Racer

Cheng Wen-Tang, Cheng Jin Fen, Chang I-Feng — Tears

Eddie Fong, Clara Law — Like A Dream

Best Screenplay Adaptation

Guan Hu — Cow

Chen Kuo-Fu, Zhang Jialu — The Message

Gu Xiaoni — Death Dowry

Best Cinematography

Song Xiao Fei — Cow

Sion Michel(A.C.S) — Like A Dream

Zhao Xiao Shi — Wheat

Cao Yu — City ofLifeand Death

Best Visual Effects

Jiang Weibin, Lei Zaixing — Da Ming Palace

Wang Jianxiong, Jimmy Chen, Li Liping — Crazy Racer

Don Ma — City ofLifeand Death

Hu Xuan, Xiao Yang — The Message

Best Art Direction

HuaTa-Hua — No Pudeo Vivir Sin Ti

Lee Tian Jue, Patrick Dechesne, Alain - Pascal Housiaux — Face

Yee Chung Man — Like A Dream

Shi Haiying, Yang Haoyu — The Message

Best Make-up & Costume Design

Chen Tong Xun — Forever Enthralled

Christian Lacroix, Wang Chia Hui, Anne Dunsford — Face

Emi Wada — The Warrior and the Wolf

Tim Yip — The Message

Best Action Choreography

Tung Wai — The Beast Stalker

Chen Guan Long, Qin Hai Qiang — Cow

Philippe Decouflé — Face

Sammo Hung — Ip Man

Best Film Editing

Cheung King Wai — KJ: music and life

LeonDai — No Pudeo Vivir Sin Ti

Kong Jinlei — Cow

Zhang Yifan, Du Yuan, Tang Hua — Crazy Racer

Best Sound Effects

Cheung King Wai – KJ: music and life

Tu Duu-Chih – Yang Yang

Wang Changrui – Wheat

Tu Duu-Chih – Like A Dream

Best Original Film Score

Lim Giong – Yang Yang

Dou Wei, Bi Xiao Di – The Equation of Love and Death

Paul Grabowsky –  Like A Dream

Liu Xing – Wheat


Best Original Film Song


Young Spirit of a Taiwanese Opera Singer

Death Dowry

Best Documentary

KJ: music and life — CNEX Foundation

Baseball Boys — Public Television Service Foundation

Let The Wind Carry Me - The Fleeting Moments of Mark Lee— Chiang Hsiu Chiung, Kwan Pun Leung, Tony Luo

Best Short Film

Sleeping With Her — Chih Yi Wen

Invisible Loneliness — Lin Jung Hsien

Ending Cut— Wu’s Production Co.

Outstanding Taiwanese Film of the Year

Let The Wind Carry Me - The Fleeting Moments Of Mark Lee

No Pudeo Vivir Sin Ti

Yang Yang

Outstanding Taiwanese Filmmaker of the Year

Lee Lung-Yue

Jack Kao