Jurors include Chiwetel Ejiofor, Kristin Scott Thomas, Christine Vachon and Mabel Cheung.

Pawel Pawlikowski

The 59th BFI London Film Festival (Oct 7-18) has announced that Ida director Pawel Pawlikowski will head up this year’s Official Competition Jury.

Ida won the BAFTA and Oscar for Best Foreign-Language Award for Pawlikowski, whose previous films include Last Resort and My Summer of Love.

The jury will include Chiwetel Ejiofor, star of Steve McQueen’s 12 Years a Slave and Stephen Frears’ Dirty Pretty Things

He will be joied by British actress Kristin Scott Thomas, US producer Christine Vachon (Carol) and Chinese director Mabel Cheung (A Tales of Three Cities).

Pawlikowski said: “It is an honour to be Jury President for the BFI London Film Festival this year especially as my last film Ida won the Best Film Award in 2013 at the very beginning of its journey.”

The titles include:

  • 11 Minutes, Jerzy Skolimowski
  • Beasts Of No Nation, Cary Fukunaga
  • Cemetery Of Splendour, Apichatpong Weerasethakul
  • Chevalier, Athina Rachel Tsangari
  • The Daughter, Simon Stone
  • Desierto, Jonás Cuarón
  • Evolution, Lucile Hadžihalilović
  • Office, Johnnie To
  • Room, Lenny Abrahamson
  • Son Of Saul, László Nemes
  • Sunset Song, Terence Davies
  • Tangerine, Sean Baker
  • Very Big Shot, Mir-Jean Bou Chaaya

Awards will be handed out at a ceremony on Oct 17, with prizes including The Best Film Award for the winner of the Official Competition; the Sutherland Award is presented to the winner of the First Feature Competition and the Grierson Award is presented in partnership with the Grierson Trust, to the winning film in the Documentary Competition.

This year there is also the newly introduced Short Film Award, presented to one of a shortlist of 12 films selected from across the programme. Each of these sections is open to international and British films.

As previously announced Cate Blanchett will receive the BFI Fellowship, awarded each year at the BFI London Film Festival Awards ceremony. Juries for the First Feature, Documentary and Short Film competitions will be announced shortly.