The organisation has unveiled the 2011 nominees ahead of the 26th Annual ASC Awards ceremony in Los Angeles on Feb 12.

The nominees and the films they worked on are in alphabetical order of film:

Guillaume Schiffman, The Artist;

Jeff Cronenweth, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo;

Robert Richardson, Hugo;

Hoyte van Hoytema, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy;

and Emmanuel Lubezki, The Tree Of Life. (pictured).

“These five cinematographers have created works of art that serve the story and director’s vision in unique and engaging ways,” ASC awards committee chairman Richard Crudo said. “Their talent for translating the script and performances to the screen demonstrates the phenomenal power of the visual image.”