In the first barometer of the North American awards season, the National Board of Review (NBR) announced its 2002 winners today (Dec 4), with Stephen Daldry's star-studded drama The Hours taking 2002 Best Film Of The Year. The results were a triumph for Miramax Films which co-financed The Hours and had five of the other top five films of the year.

Other significant winners include Campbell Scott as best actor for Artisan Entertainment's comedy-drama Roger Dodger, Julianne Moore as best actress for Focus Features' Far From Heaven and Phillip Noyce as best director for The Quiet American and Rabbit-Proof Fence. The awards will be presented at the NBR's annual gala on Jan 14, 2003.

Sony Pictures Classics' Talk To Her by Pedro Almodovar was named Best Foreign Film of 2002, while Chris Cooper took best supporting actor for Columbia/Intermedia's Adaptation and Kathy Bates the best supporting actress honour for New Line's drama About Schmidt, directed by Alexander Payne. Derek Luke was named the best breakthrough actor for Fox Searchlight's drama Antwone Fisher, Denzel Washington's directorial debut. Maggie Gyllenhaal took the best breakthrough actress award for Lions Gate Films' Secretary, which was directed by Steven Shainberg.

Rob Marshall will receive the best directorial debut for Chicago, Miramax's acclaimed Broadway adaptation, while screenwriter of the year goes to Charlie Kaufman for Adaptation, Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind and Human Nature. Confessions, another Miramax film, garnered a special film-making achievement award for George Clooney, who directed, produced and starred in the adaptation of game show impressario and self-styled CIA hitman Chuck Barris' memoirs.

In the special awards category, George Lucas will receive the Special Award for Visionary Cinematic Achievement; Christopher Plummer will be honoured for Career Achievement; Elmer Bernstein will be presented with the Career Achievement award for film music composition; and Conrad Hall will receive the Career Achievement award for cinematography.

The 2002 National Board of Review winners:

TOP 10 FILMS OF 2002:

1 The Hours (Paramount/Miramax, dir. Stephen Daldry) - Best Film

2 Chicago (Miramax, dir. Rob Marshall)

3 Gangs Of New York (Miramax/IEG, dir. Martin Scorsese)

4 The Quiet American (Miramax/Intermedia, dir. Phillip Noyce)

5 Adaptation (Columbia Pictures/Intermedia, dir. Spike Jonze)

6 Rabbit-Proof Fence (Miramax/Hanway Films, dir. Phillip Noyce)

7 The Pianist (Focus Features/StudioCanal, dir. Roman Polanksi)

8 Far From Heaven (Focus Features/TF1 International, Todd Haynes)

9 Thirteen Conversations About One Thing (Sony Pictures Classics/Overseas Filmgroup, dir. Jill Sprecher)

10 Frida (Miramax, dir. Julie Taymor)


1 Talk To Her (Sony Pictures Classics/Focus Features, dir Pedro Almodovar) - Best Foreign Film

2 Y Tu Mama Tambien (IFC Films/Focus Features, dir. Alfonso Cuaron)

3 8 Women (Focus Features/Celluloid Dreams, dir. Francois Ozon)

4 City Of God (Miramax/Wild Bunch, dirs. Katia Lund and Fernando Meirelles)

5 El Crimen Del Padre Amaro (Samuel Goldwyn Films/Columbia TriStar, dir. Carlos Carrera)

Best Actor: Campbell Scott, Roger Dodger

Best Actress: Julianne Moore, Far From Heaven

Best Supporting Actor: Chris Cooper, Adaptation

Best Supporting Actress: Kathy Bates, About Schmidt

Best Acting By An Ensemble: Nicholas Nickleby

Breakthrough Performance Actor: Derek Luke, Antwone Fisher

Breakthrough Performance Actress: Maggie Gyllenhaal, Secretary

Best Director: Phillip Noyce, The Quiet American and Rabbit-Proof Fence

Best Directorial Debut: Rob Marshall, Chicago

Screenwriter Of The Year: Charlie Kaufman, Adaptation, Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind, Human Nature

Best Documentary: Bowling For Columbine (dir. Michael Moore)

Best Animated Feature: Spirited Away (dir. Hayao Miyazaki)

Best Film Made For TV: The Laramie Project

Special Award For Visionary Cinematic Achievement: George Lucas

Career Achievement: Christopher Plummer

Special Film-making Achievement: George Clooney - director, producer and star of Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind

Career Achievement - Film Music Composition: Elmer Bernstein

Career Achievement - Cinematography: Conrad Hall

Humanitarian Award: Sheila Nevins

William K Everson Award For Film History: Annette Insdorf for her book Indelible Shadows: Films And The Holocaust

Special Recognition Of Films That Reflect Freedom Of Expression: Ararat, Bloody Sunday, The Grey Zone, Rabbit-Proof Fence



The Good Girl

The Guys


Igby Goes Down


Personal Velocity

Real Women Have Curves

Roger Dodger

Sunshine State