The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Source: Netflix

The Trial Of The Chicago 7

The IFP Gotham Awards is adding a new annual honour to its line-up, with the event’s first Ensemble Tribute going to The Trial Of The Chicago 7

The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) said the tribute, previously a juried award, will recognise the performances of a “dynamic and noteworthy cast on screen and celebrate their collective effort and contributions to the film’s narrative.” 

Written and directed by Aaron Sorkin, The Trial Of The Chicago 7 features an ensemble cast including Sacha Baron Cohen, Eddie Redmayne, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Jeremy Strong, Mark Rylance, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Michael Keaton and Frank Langella. 

The thirtieth anniversary Gotham Awards are set for January 11 and will be presented live from New York in a hybrid ceremony with “virtual interactive tables” allowing pandemic health and safety protocols to be followed. 

Commenting on the award, IFP executive director Jeffrey Sharp said: “For our thirtieth anniversary we are proud to introduce a new tribute honour, recognising excellence in an ensemble cast. Starting this year and in the years to come, we look to celebrate a film that demonstrates the collaborative nature of a group performance and the effect that it has in elevating each individual, and the overall story. Each cast member of The Trial Of The Chicago 7 delivers an intricate and powerful performance, and we are delighted to celebrate them and their cumulative achievement.” 

IFP previously announced that Chadwick Boseman will get this year’s posthumous Actor Tribute, Viola Davis the Actress Tribute, Steve McQueen the Director’s Tribute and Ryan Murphy the Industry Tribute.