Iranian film-maker named as president of the international jury for this year’s awards.

APSA has selected Asghar Farhadi as the president of the international jury at this year’s awards.

A three-time APSA winner, Farhadi is one of the only film-makers to receive APSA nominations for three different films across the seven-year history of the event.

Farhadi commented: “It is truly special to be able to celebrate the outstanding cinema of the Asia Pacific region, which produces half of the world’s film, and it will be both a pleasure and a challenge to determine the 2014 APSA winners with the international jury in Brisbane in December.”

APSA has also announced that Anthony Chen will be a member of the international jury this year.

It follows the Singaporean film-maker’s APSA win for achievement in directing for his debut feature Ilo Ilo at last year’s awards.