Wash Westmoreland c Peter Searle

Source: Peter Searle

Wash Westmoreland

Colette and Still Alice director Wash Westmoreland heads the official competition jury at this year’s BFI London Film Festival (LFF, Oct 2-13). His latest film Earthquake Bird screens in this year’s event.

The jury for the first feature competition (Sutherland award) will be led by Austrian director Jessica Hausner, whose Little Joe is also playing at LFF.

Strong Island director Yance Ford and producer Jacqui Davies head the documentary and short film competition juries respectively.

The other jurors are:

Official competition: Jane Crowther, editor of Total Film; Hayley Squires, actress; Sudabeh Mortezai, director of last year’s best film award Joy; Lena Headey, actress; Mohamed Hefzy, screenwriter, producer.

First feature: Shola Amoo, writer and producer; Theresa Ikoko, playwright; Hong Khaou, director.

Documentary: Cíntia Gil, former co-director of Portugal’s DocLisboa; Julia Nottingham, producer at Pulse Films.

Short films: Amrou Al-Kadhi, writer, director; filmmaker; Mark Jenkin, filmmaker, editor and screenwriter; Alex Lawther, actor; Marli Siu, actress.

This year 10 titles have been selected for official competition, including four produced or co-produced in the UK. The full list of titles is here.

The festival opens on October 2 with Armando Iannucci’s The Personal History Of David Copperfield, and closes on October 13 with Martin Scorsese’s The Irishman.