Call me by your name 3

Source: Sony Pictures Classics

‘Call Me By Your Name’

Call Me By Your Name and Get Out were the big winners at the Independent Filmmaker Project Gotham Film Awards on Monday night (27 Nov).

At the ceremony hosted by John Cameron Mitchell in New York, Luca Guadagnino’s 1980s set romance Call Me By Your Name won the best feature and best breakthrough actor for young star Timothée Chalamet. Last year’s best feature winner, Moonlight, went on to win best picture at the Academy Awards.

Jordan Peele’s horror Get Out won the most awards of the night, taking home best screenplay, breakthrough director and the audience award.

James Franco won best actor for The Disaster Artist, with Saorise Ronan winning best actress for Greta Gerwig’s Lady Bird.

The cast of Mudbound, including Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks, won the special jury award for ensemble performance.

The complete list of nominees, with winners in bold, is below.

Best Feature

  • Call Me By Your Name
  • The Florida Project
  • Get Out
  • Good Time
  • I, Tonya

Best Documentary

  • Ex Libris – The New York Public Library
  • Rat Film
  • Strong Island
  • Whose Streets?
  • The Work

Audience Award

  • Get Out

 Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

  • Maggie Betts for Novitiate
  • Greta Gerwig for Lady Bird
  • Kogonada for Columbus
  • Jordan Peele for Get Out
  • Joshua Z Weinstein for Menashe

Best Screenplay 

  • The Big Sick, Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani
  • Brad’s Status, Mike White
  • Call Me by Your Name, James Ivory
  • Columbus, Kogonada
  • Get Out, Jordan Peele
  • Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig

Best Actor 

  • James Franco, The Disaster Artist
  • Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
  • Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out
  • Robert Pattinson, Good Time
  • Harry Dean Stanton, Lucky
  • Adam Sandler, The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)

Best Actress 

  • Haley Lu Richardson, Columbus
  • Melanie Lynskey, i don’t feel at home in this world anymore.
  • Margot Robbie, I, Tonya
  • Saorise Ronan, Lady Bird
  • Lois Smith, Marjorie Prime

Special Jury Award For Ensemble Performance

  • Mudbound, presented to Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks

Breakthrough Actor

  • Mary J. Blige, Mudbound
  • Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
  • Harris Dickinson, Beach Rats
  • Kelvin Harrison, Jr., It Comes at Night
  • Brooklynn Prince, The Florida Project

Breakthrough Series – Long Form

  • Atlanta
  • Better Things
  • Dear White People
  • Fleabag
  • Search Party

Breakthrough Series – Short Form

  • 555
  • Inconceivable
  • Junior
  • Let Me Die a Nun
  • The Strange Eyes of Dr. Myes

Made in NY Honoree

  • Michael K. Williams