CBC executive director of studio and unscripted content Jennifer Dettman and Shaw Media vp of original content Christine Shipton have joined the board of the Academy Of Canadian Cinema & Television.

“The addition of two of the country’s most well-respected broadcast executives further strengthens the board’s industry relationships and expertise. Their proven record of creativity matched with fiscal strength will be a great addition to the Board,” said Academy chair Martin Katz.

The Academy board comprises Prospero Pictures president Katz as chair; Rogers Group Of Funds executive director Robin Mirsky as vice-chair; PriceWaterhouseCoopers retired partner Gabriel Nachman as treasurer; BT/A Advertising president  Barry Avrich; Bristow Global Media president and CEO Julie Bristow; Comweb Corp and William F White International Inc chairman and CEO Paul Bronfman; producer Don Carmody; and Dettman.

Remaining members are executive producer Jonas Diamond; Cineplex Entertainment chief legal officer Anne Fitzgerald; GMP Capital Inc CEO Harris Fricker; Bell Media vp of communications Scott Henderson; producer Robert Lantos; Shipton; Slaight Communications president and CEO Gary Slaight; eOne Films Canada svp of acquisitions  Mark Slone; and Temple Street Productions director John Young. Richard Speer is special advisor.