Student Academy Awards

Source: Academy

Student Academy Awards

The Academy has honoured filmmakers from Germany, Mexico, Norway and Estonia in the 47th Student Academy Awards, which took place at the event’s first virtual ceremony on Wednesday (October 21).

All winning films are eligible to compete for 2020 Oscars in the animated short film, live action short film or documentary short subject categories.

Past winners, who include Pixar head and Soul director Pete Docter, Cary Fukunaga, Spike Lee, Trey Parker, Patricia Riggen and Robert Zemeckis, have gone on to receive 64 Oscar nominations and have won or shared 13 awards.

Winners appear below:

Alternative/Experimental (Domestic and International Film Schools)
Gold: Simulacra, Curry Sicong Tian, University of Southern California

Animation (Domestic Film Schools)
Gold: Ciervo, Pilar Garcia-Fernandezsesma, Rhode Island School of Design
Silver: Mime Your Manners, Kate Namowicz and Skyler Porras, Ringling College of Art & Design
Bronze: Hamsa, Daniela Dwek, Maya Mendonca and Chrisy Baek, School of Visual Arts

Animation (International Film Schools)
Gold: The Beauty, Pascal Schelbli, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg (Germany)

Documentary (Domestic Film Schools)
Gold: Unfinished Lives, Yucong Chen, University of Southern California
Silver: The Dope Years: The Story Of Latasha Harlins, Allison A. Waite, University of Southern California
Bronze: Making Waves, Laura Zéphirin, New York University

Documentary (International Film Schools)
Gold: Dear Father…, Maren Klakegg, Westerdals Institute of Film and Media, Kristiania University College (Norway)

Narrative (Domestic Film Schools)
Gold: Umama, Talia Smith, New York University
Silver: Bittu, Karishma Dube, New York University
Bronze: Sweet Potatoes, Rommel Villa Barriga, University of Southern California

Narrative (International Film Schools)
Gold: My Dear Corpses, German Golub, Baltic Film & Media School, Tallinn University (Estonia)
Silver: Crescendo, Percival Argüero Mendoza, Centro de Capacitación Cinematográfica (Mexico)
Bronze: I Was Still There When You Left Me, Marie Mc Court, Institut des Arts de Diffusion (Belgium)

Eugenio Derbez hosted the ceremony and presenters were Spike Lee, legendary animator Glen Keane, Lulu Wang, Dawn Porter, and experimental filmmaker Shunsaku Hayashi.