King Richard : The Harder They Fall

Source: Warner Bros / Netflix

‘King Richard’ / ‘The Harder They Fall’

King Richard and The Harder They Fall are the big winners with the African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA), earning four awards apiece.

King Richard won for best actor (Will Smith), supporting actress (Aunjanue Ellis), breakout actor (Saniyya Sidney) and emerging director (Reinaldo Marcus Green), while The Harder They Fall took best picture, best ensemble, best music (Jeymes Samuel, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z) and best director (Samuel).

Jennifer Hudson took the best actress award for Respect, while the supporting actor award went to Corey Hawkins from The Tragedy Of Macbeth, Adam McKay won the screenplay prize for Don’t Look Up, Who We Are took best independent feature, and Summer Of Soul best documentary.

Special achievement awards will be announced in the coming weeks including the Cinema Vanguard Award, the ICON Award, AAFCA’s Stanley & Karen Kramer Award for Social Justice, the Building Change Award, and the Innovator Award.

The in-person 13th Annual AAFCA Awards ceremony is scheduled for March 2 in Los Angeles with a limited capacity audience and other health and safety protocols in place.

Winners of 13th Annual AAFCA Awards

Best Picture: The Harder They Fall

Best Director: Jeymes Samuel (The Harder They Fall)

Best Screenplay: Don’t Look Up (Adam McKay)

Best Actor: Will Smith (King Richard)

Best Actress: Jennifer Hudson (Respect)

Best Supporting Actor: Corey Hawkins (The Tragedy Of Macbeth)

Best Supporting Actress: Aunjanue Ellis (King Richard)

Breakout Actor: Saniyya Sidney (King Richard)

Best Ensemble: The Harder They Fall

Emerging Director: Reinaldo Marcus Green (King Richard)

Best Music: The Harder They Fall (Jeymes Samuel, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z)

Best Independent Feature: Who We Are

Best Documentary: Summer Of Soul.