The Odense International Film Festival kicks off Aug 23 in Odense, Denmark, and its 25th edition includes 120 short films in competition alongside a variety of special events.

OFF10’s international jury consists of Danish producer Morten Kauffman, Danish filmmaker Lotte Svendsen and the interBerlin film festival director Heinz Hermans.

International Grand Prix competition includes 83 films such as True Beauty This Night from the US and the French animated film Babel. Other prizes include the Most Inventive Film and Most Surprising Film awards.

The 20 national films competing for the Grand Prix include 2010 Academy Award winner The New Tenants and Cannes Critics Week winner Berik. Meanwhile the national jury consists of documentary filmmaker Michael Noer, actor/director Charlotte Sachs Bostrup and artist Marco Avaristti.

The festival will also maintain its commitment to animated film by awarding two prizes; the Animation Award and the Talent Award. The jury for this category is comprised of renowned animators Jorgen Klubein, Dorte Bengston and Julia Bracegirdle.

Other events taking place during OFF10 include an international pitching contest with a €6,600 funding grant.

OFF10 will kick off with a series of clips from the official competition programme presided over by the festival’s artistic director Mikkel Munch-Fals and will culminate on Aug 28 with screenings of the award-winning films.