Nicolas Cage, Ridley Scott and Randy Newman are among the honorees at next year's Nortel Networks Palm Springs International Film Festival. Cage will be presented with the Charles A Crain Desert Palm Award, Scott with the Director's Achievement Award and Newman with the Frederick Loewe Award at an awards gala on Jan 13, 2001, at the Palm Springs Convention Centre.

Cage joins other recent recipients including Annette Bening, John Travolta, Sylvester Stallone, Susan Sarandon, James Stewart and Frank Sinatra.

Additional awards will be announced soon.