The Puchon International Fantastic Film Festival (PiFan), Asia’s largest genre film festival, has announced the line-up for its sophomore Network of Asian Fantastic Films (NAFF) It Project market.

The 19 It projects, which hail from ten countries, range from thriller to horror to action and black comedy and includes 17 feature films and two animated films.

With a Spotlight on Singapore this year, NAFF has selected three projects – animated feature Tattoo War by Yue Weng Pok, and two Eric Khoo-related projects – I Am Real, from his original company Zhao Wei Films, and The Nail, from his new genre label Gorylah Pictures.  

Other finalists include cult hit Samurai Fiction director Hiroyuki Nakano with Numeric Love (working title), Shopping For Fangs from director Quentin Lee with his new Hong Kong project Rigor Mortis, and Asian-American director Abraham Lim working with producer Ellen Kim (Cry Woman) on Soul Station.

NAFF provides project directors and producers with the opportunity to meet one-on-one with key investors and potential co-producers, as well as holding individual meetings with jury members who will give advice and award cash prizes and post-production support.

Aside from the It Project market, NAFF also holds industry forums and runs the Fantastic Film School (FFS), a specialised genre film training program.

NAFF this year will take place July 19 – 23, during PiFan (July 16 – 26) in Bucheon city, about an hour outside of Seoul.

PiFan festival director Han Sang-Jun and programmers Kwon Yong-min and Jin Park are currently in Cannes looking for festival selections.

NAFF It Project Market Line-up (title/country/director)

Neighbor No.13 (Philippines/South Africa) Ato Bautista

The Arsonists (South Korea) Ha Jun Won

Tattoo War (Singapore) Yue Weng Pok

Tsubaki Hime (Japan) Yu Irie

The Visitor (China) Joshua Tong

Soul Station (S. Korea) Abraham Lim

Shuffle (Taiwan) John Hsu

Planet of the Noses (Philippines) Rox Lee

I Am Real (Singapore) Yew Kwang Han

Numeric Love (working title) - Korea/Japan - Hiroyuki Nakano

Rigor Mortis (Hong Kong) Quentin Lee

The Tempest (Japan/USA) John Williams

Burn the News! (working title) – Korea - Kim Byung Woo

Breaking Point (US/Vietnam) Ham Tran

Chased (Hong Kong/US) Ezra James Emerson

Space Gore (Korea/France) Ly Jin

The Nail (Singapore) Mike Wiluan

Survivor (S. Korea) Kang Hyo Jin

Trai Cay In Korea (working title) – Japan - Hidehiro Ito