Sydney Pollack will receive the 2006 American Society ofCinematographers' (ASC) Board of Governors Award, presented annually to anindividual who has made significant and enduring contributions to advancing theart of filmmaking.

Pollack will collect the honours at the 20th Annual ASCOutstanding Achievement Awards ceremony on Feb 26, 2006 in Los Angeles.

'Sydney Pollack is a complete filmmaker who has directed andproduced some of the most memorable films of our times,' Russ Alsobrook,chairman of the organisation's awards committee, said.

'He has made extraordinary contributions to advancing the artof filmmaking, in addition to playing a vital role in some our industry's mostimportant institutions."

Pollack's wonthe best picture and best director Oscars in 1986 for Out Of Africa, and his other credits include Tootsie, They Shoot Horses, Don't They', The Firm and The Interpreter.