Top brass at the Independent Filmmaker Project announced on Monday (9) the 10 narrative features selected for the 2014 Independent Filmmaker Labs.

The creative teams of the selected films, chosen from a nationwide pool of more than 150 submissions, are attending the first session of the program – The Time Warner Foundation Completion Labs – taking place this week in New York.

The 2014 Labs mark the 10th anniversary edition of the mentorship programme.

The scheme was established in 2005 by Filmmaker Magazine’s editor-in-chief Scott Macaulay as a three-day event for eight narrative projects and has evolved under the leadership of head of programming Amy Dotson and senior director of programming Milton Tabbot into a year-round process for 20 projects – 10 documentaries and 10 narratives.

The ninth documentary lab took place recently (pictured).

As an extension of the Labs programme, IFP has launched First Run to host week-long theatrical releases at the Made In NY Media Center by IFP this autumn.

“We are thrilled to provide our Lab alumni and independent filmmakers in our community the opportunity to build audience and critical acclaim through theatrical release in our new state of the art screening room,” said Joana Vicente, executive director of IFP and the Made In NY Media Center

The selected projects for the 2014 IFP Narrative Lab and Lab Fellows are:

Fellows: Andrew Dresher (writer, director), Chip Hourihan (producer), Jon Furay (producer), Chris Branca (editor);

Christmas, Again
A lonely Christmas tree vendor tries to salvage his holiday spirit as a mysterious woman befriends him. Fellows: Charles Poekel (writer, director, producer), Clare Paterson (co-producer);

Fellows: Claire Carré (writer, director, producer, editor), Charles Spano (writer, producer);

Only A Switch
Fellows: Michael Vincent (director, writer, producer, editor), Chadd Harbold (producer, cinematographer), Jenn Wexler (producer);

Out of My Hand
Fellows: Takeshi Fukunaga (director, writer, editor), Donari Braxton (producer, writer), Owen Donovan (director of photography);

Some Beasts
Fellows: Cameron Nelson (writer, director, producer, editor), Courtney Ware (producer);

Songs My Brothers Taught Me
Fellows: Chloé Zhao (writer, director, producer), Mollye Asher (producer), Umar Riaz (editor);

Take Me to the River
Fellows: Matt Sobel (writer, director, producer);

Those People
Fellows: Joey Kuhn (writer, director, producer), Kimberly Parker (producer), Sarah Perlman Bremner (producer), Desiree Akhavan (editor); and

The Wild
Fellows: Carleton Ranney (writer, director), Rebecca Rose Perkins (producer), Joe Stankus (producer).