As the festival comes to a close on November 14, top brass have announced the grand jury short film and audience award winners.

This year’s edition ran from November 7-14 and presented 120 films comprising 84 features and 36 shorts representing 43 countries.


Live-action short film: Butter Lamp

Animated short: The Places Where We Lived

New Auteurs Critic’s Award: Nothing Bad Can Happen


World Cinema: The Rocket (pictured)

New Auteurs: The Selfish Giant.

American Independents: We Gotta Get Out Of This Place.

Breakthrough (award accompanied by a $5,000 cash prize): B For Boy.

“This year, some extraordinary new artists have burst onto the scene, and we hope that these awards from the audience and the jury will enable their films to reach a wider audience,” said festival director Jacqueline Lyanga.

“We hope that the enthusiasm and excitement that our audiences have had for all of the films that we’ve shown this past week – foreign, American, independent, experimental, short and documentary – continues and spreads.”