Israel Cárdenas and Laura Amelia Guzmán romance from the Dominican Republic won the Best Fiction Feature prize at the 2015 trinidad+tobago film festival (ttff) awards ceremony.

Trinidad + Tobago winners

Best Documentary Feature went to Aleksandra Maciuszek’s Casa Blanca, which also earned a special mention for artistic merit from the Amnesty International Human Rights Prize jury.

In the Trinidad and Tobago film categories, Sean Hodgkinson’s Trafficked took Best Fiction Feature, while Kim Johnson’s Re-percussions: An African Odyssey won Best Documentary Feature.

The People’s Choice Award for Best Narrative Feature went to Joanne Johnson’s local title Sally’s Way as Antigua’s Vanishing Sail by Alexis Andrews took corresponding documentary honours.

The prize for best project at the first ever Caribbean Film Mart went to Kidnapping Inc from Haiti by Gaethan Chancy, Bruno Mourral and Raoul Peck. The festival ran from September 15-29.

Full list of award winners:

Best Fiction Feature: Sand Dollars, (Dominican Republic-Mexico-Argentina), Israel Cárdenas and Laura Amelia Guzmán

Best Documentary Feature: Casa Blanca (Cuba-Mexico-Poland), Aleksandra Maciuszek

Best Short Film, Narrative: Mommy Water (Guadeloupe), Julien Silloray

Best Short Film, Documentary: Papa Machete (Haiti-USA-Barbados), Jonathan David Kane

Best Trinidad and Tobago Fiction Feature: Trafficked (Trinidad & Tobago), Sean Hodgkinson

Best Trinidad and Tobago Documentary Feature: Re-percussions: An African Odyssey, Kim Johnson

Best Trinidad and Tobago Short Film, Fiction: Fade To Black, Christopher Guinness

Best Trinidad and Tobago Short Film, Documentary: Riding Bull Cart, Rhonda Chan Soo

People’s Choice Award, Best Narrative Feature: Sally’s Way (Trinidad & Tobago), Joanne Johnson

People’s Choice Award, Best Documentary Feature: Vanishing Sail (Antigua), Alexis Andrews

People’s Choice Award, Best Short Film: City On The Hill, (Trinidad & Tobago), Patricia Mohammed and Michael Mooleedhar

Amnesty International Human Rights Prize: My Father’s Land (Bahamas-Haiti-Trinidad & Tobago), Miquel Galofré and Tyler Johnston,

Amnesty International Human Rights Prize, Special Mention for Artistic Merit: Casa Blanca (Cuba-Mexico-Poland), Aleksandra Maciuszek,

RBC: Focus Filmmakers’ Immersion Pitch Prize: Kojo McPherson, Guyana

Caribbean Film Mart Best Project Award: Kidnapping Inc (Haiti), Gaethan Chancy, Bruno Mourral, Raoul Peck

Best Emerging Trinidad and Tobago Filmmaker: Michael Rochford

BPTT Youth Jury Prize for Best Film: Girlhood (France), Céline Sciamma

BPTT Youth Jury Prize Honourable Mention: Güeros, (Mexico), Alonzo Ruizpalacios

BPTT Youth Jury Prize, Special Mention for Cinematography: The Greatest House In The World, (Guatemala-Mexico), Ana V Bojórquez and Lucía Carreras.