The Sundance Instituteyesterday (29) named the six participants in its 7th Annual Sundance InstituteComposers Lab, which is due to run from Jul 20-Aug 4.

This year's Composers LabFellows are Peter Fitzpatrick, Aiko Fukushima, Joseph Julian Gonzalez, GaryLouris, Raz Mesinai and Michael Torke.

The two-week lab falls underthe aegis of the Institute's Film Music Programme and offers a series ofworkshops and creative exercises under the tutelage of a group of establishedmusic professionals.

The chosen six will workwith a team of mentors, and organisers said there would be crossover withfilm-makers on the Feature Film Programme as part of a wider educational reach.

The opera composer JohnAdams (The Death Of Klinghoffer)and Osvaldo Golijov (11/09/01 - September 11) are among the mentors as are Thomas Newman, EdShearmur, and music supervisor Tracey McKnight.

"Music is a crucial andoften overlooked part of the film-making process and this lab provides a uniqueopportunity for emerging composers and directors to work together in an atmospherethat encourages experimentation," Film Music Programme director Peter Golubsaid in a statement.

"Interest in this programmecontinues to grow and this year's fellows represent an extraordinary level ofaccomplishment and range of musical experience."