Noah Buschel’s Sparrows Dance claimed the narrative feature prize while Jamie Meltzer’s Informant won top documentary feature honours.

Bryan Buckley’s Asad was named best narrative short, Christoph Kuschnig and writer Karl Goldblat triumphed in the narrative student short category for Hatch and Timothy Reckart’s Head Over Heels won the animated short prize.

Chelsea Hernandez and Erik Mauck won the documentary short award for See The Dirt and the winners of the Young Filmmakers Competition were director Nicco Vasquez and writer Keith Limon for Crumbs.

The winners in the animated short and narrative short categories are eligible for Academy Award nomination.

Festival organisers announced at the weekend that after receiving a record 6,500 submissions they have awarded the 2012 Screenplay and Teleplay Competition winners.

Clouds Of Sorrow by Jack Davidson scooped the Drama Screenplay Award, Dan Shea’s The P.A.N.D.A. War took the Comedy Screenplay Award and Adeline Colangelo’s The Break-Up Nurse took the Enderby Entertainment Award. The Dark Hero Studios Sci-Fi Award went to The Domain by Michael Raymond.