Steven Spielberg is to receive the Cecil B DeMille Award at the 65th Annual Golden Globes on January 13, 2008.

Spielberg receives the honour from the Hollywood Foreign Press Association for his ‘outstanding contribution to the entertainment field’ and joins an illustrious roster of prior recipients such as Warren Beatty, Anthony Hopkins, Michael Douglas, Al Pacino and Barbra Streisand.

Spielberg has won six Golden Globes including best director trophies for Schindler’s List and Saving Private Ryan and best film honours for E.T. - The Extra-Terrestrial, among others. He won best director Oscars for Schindler’s List and Saving Private Ryan.

Spielberg is a principal partner of DreamWorks Studios, which he co-founded with Jeffrey Katzenberg and David Geffen in October 1994, and his credits include Munich, Jaws, Raiders Of The Lost Ark, Jurassic Park, War Of The Worlds and Close Encounters Of The Third Kind.

The HFPA board also announced that Bruce Willis and Demi Moore’s daughter Rumer Willis will assume the mantle of Miss Golden Globe at the ceremony.