Independent film showcase Raindance Film Festival has revealed the shortlist for its annual awards.

The 17th edition of the festival, which runs September 30 to October 11, will hand out awards in categories including best UK feature, best international feature, best debut and best micro-budget feature.

This year’s jury is made up of actor and hip-hop artist Riz Ahmed; writer and director Armando Iannucci; Peter Bradshaw, The Guardian film critic; actress Kerry Fox; director Momoko Ando, artist, poet and film-maker Billy Childish; writer and documentary maker Jon Ronson; BBC Films creative director Christine Langan; producer Andy Williams; Julia Brown, commercial director of Apollo Cinemas; Jamie Graham, deputy editor, Total Film and musician and actor Tom Waits.

The event will open with American indie hit Humpday and its director Lynn Shelton will be attending the event, while Stephen Soderbergh’s The Girlfriend Experience will be the closing night film after the awards ceremony.  This year the festival’s line-up includes strands dedicated to homegrown talent, American Indie, documentaries, and Japan.


Best UK Feature

Down Terrace, Dir: Ben Wheatley

Desire, Dir: Gareth Jones

Exam, Dir: Stuart Hazeldine

Cry With Laughter, Dir: Justin Molotnikov

Resurrecting The Street Walker, Dir Ozgur Uyanik

Best International Feature

25 Kilates, Dir: Patxi Amezcua (Spain)

My Suicide, Dir: David Lee Miller (USA)

You Won’t Miss Me, Dir: Ry Russo-Young (USA)

No One’s Son, Dir: Arsen Anton Ostojic (Croatia)

Vacation (Kyuka), Dir: Hajime Kadoi, Japan 

Best Debut Feature

Mime-Mine (Maimu Maimu), Dir: Yukiko Sode (Japan)

BelgradePhantom, Dir: Jovan Todorovic (Serbia)

Redland, Dir: Asiel Norton (USA)

The Longest Night, Dir: Till Kleinert (Germany)

The Dinner Party, Dir: Scott Murden (Australia)

A Necessary Death, Dir: Daniel Stamm (USA)

Best Micro Budget Feature – documentary or fiction

Colin, Dir: Marc Price (UK)

Son Of The Sunshine, Dir: Ryan Ward (Canada)

Bomber, Dir: Paul Cotter (UK)

All The Years Of Trying, Dir: Dom Shaw (UK)

Memory And Desire: 30 Years In The Wilderness With Stephen Duffy And The Lilac Time, Dir: Douglas Arrowsmith (Canada/UK)

Locked Out, Dir: Yasunobu Takahashi (Japan)

Best Documentary

A Normal Life Please (Futsu No Shigoto Ga Shitai) , Dir: Tokachi Tsuchiya (Japan)

Special When Lit, Dir: Brett Sullivan (UK)

The Philosopher Kings, Dir: Patrick Shen (USA)

It Came From Kuchar, Dir: Jennifer M. Kroot (USA)

My Big Break, Dir: Tony Zierra (USA)