Kathryn Biglow and The Hurt Locker scored their second one-two punch in two days as the New York Film Critics Circle gave its two top awards to the Iraq War film.

The film was named best film and earned Bigelow best directror, mirroring the decision by the LA Film Critics on Sunday. In the acting stakes, George Clooney won for Up In The Air and Fantastic Mr Fox and Meryl Streep was honoured for Julie & Julia.

Christoph Waltz and Mo’Nique maintained their awards season momentum with supporting wins for Inglourius Basterds and Precious, respectively.

In The Loopwas named best screenplay, Summer Hours took the foreign film award, Fantastic Mr Fox was named best animation and Of Time And The City won best non-fiction film. Steve McQueen’s Hunger was named best first feature.

”In a year of tough choices for everybody, the Circle celebrates cinema with critical thinking and cultural continuity,” chair Armond White said.

The annual awards presentation will take place on January 11th.

The full list of winners:

Best Director – Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker
Best Screenplay – In The Loop
Best Actress – Meryl Streep  for Julie & Julia
Best Actor – George Clooney for Up In The Air and Fantastic Mr Fox
Best Supporting Actress– Mo’Nique for Precious
Best Supporting Actor– Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds
Best Cinematography – Christian Berger for The White Ribbon
Best Animated FilmFantastic Mr Fox
Best Non-fiction FilmOf Time And The City
Best Foreign Language FilmSummer Hours
Best First FeatureHungerby Steve McQueen
Special Award - To Andrew Sarris for his contribution to film criticism