Michael Stenberg, Johan Soderberg and Linus Torell of Sweden won the Kyoto Planet Climate for Change Award for their documentary The Planet as the 26th Annual Vancouver International Film Festival drew to a close.

The Citytv Western Canada Feature Film Award went to Carl Bessai of Vancouver for Normal, while Most Promising Director Of A Canadian Short Film was presented to Anna McRoberts for The Windfisherman.

The NFB Best Canadian Documentary Award went to Yung Chang of Quebec for Up The Yangtze, and the Women In Film & Television Vancouver Artistic Merit Award went to Gwen Haworth for She's A Boy I Knew.

The Rogers People's Choice Award for the Most Popular International Film went to Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud's Persepolis, and the Vancity People's Choice Award For The Most Popular Canadian Film was collected by Haworth for She's A Boy I Knew.

The festival ran for 16 days and closed with Pierre Salvadori's Priceless (Hors De Prix).