Greg Kwedar’s Transpecos won the Narrative feature competition audience award and Keith Maitland’s Tower the documentary prize on Saturday night.


In the Headliners programme, Jean-Marc Vallée won for Demolition and Matthew Newton claimed the Narrative Spotlight award for From Nowhere.

The Documentary Spotlight audience award went to Mr. Gaga by Tomer Heymann, while the Visions and Midnighters categories were won by Caito Ortiz for Jules And Dolores and Shinsuke Sato for I Am a Hero, respectively.

The Episodic audience winner was Vice Principals by Jody Hill, David Gordon Green, Danny McBride, and the 24 Beats Per Second prize went to Honky Tonk Heaven: Legend Of The Broken Spokeby Brenda Greene Mitchell and Sam Wainwright Douglas.   

Ghostland by Simon Stadler prevailed in the SXGLOBAL category and the festival Favorites award went to Gleason by Clay Tweel.

SXSW ran from March 11-20 and screened 143 features. For the full list of juried winners click here.