Troma Entertainment president Lloyd Kaufman has been reelected chairman of Independent Film & Television Alliance (IFTA), IFTA president and CEO Jean Prewitt has announced.

The outspoken advocate of net neutrality commences his second two-year term as the Federal Communications Commission prepares to expand protection of new services and applications on the internet.

“I will continue to fight alongside my colleagues to protect and serve independent art on film, television, DVD, and the internet, aggressively tackling media consolidation, net neutrality, piracy and other key issues facing our industry,” Kaufman said.

Pierre David of Imagination Worldwide was named general vice-chairperson and Brad Kembel of Summit Entertainment will serve as vice-chairperson/secretary.

Both will serve two years on the executive committee and join the following members who continue their two-year terms: general vice-chairperson Roger Corman of New Horizons; vice-chairperson finance Avi Lerner of Nu Image; vice-chairperson/non-California Albert Lee of Emperor Motion Pictures Ltd. HK; and, Elisabeth Costa De Beauregard Rose of Lakeshore Entertainment Group, who is chairperson of the export alliance.

Elected to two-year terms on the board of directors are: Paul Hertzberg (Cinetel Films); Jay Joyce (Artist View Entertainment); Mark Lindsay (Arclight Films); Nicole Mackey (Fortissimo Films UK); Almira Malyshev (Screen Media Ventures); Bobby Meyers (Meyers Film Entertainment); Charlotte Mickie (E1 Entertainment); Barbara Mudge (Worldwide Film Entertainment); Michael Ryan (Handmade Films International); Adam Wright (Regent Worldwide Sales); Carl Clifton (The Works International), Alternate; Tony Kandah (Hollywood Wizard), alternate; and Edward Noeltner (Cinema Management Group), alternate.

Continuing in their board positions are: Steve Bickel (The Film Department); Nicolas Chartier (Voltage Pictures); Kirk D’Amico (Myriad Pictures); Mark Damon (Foresight Unlimited); Clay Epstein (The Little Film Company); Kim Fox (QED International); Richard Guardian (Lightning Entertainment); Brad Krevoy (Motion Picture Corp Of America); Kathy Morgan (Kathy Morgan International); and Brian O’Shea (Odd Lot International).

“Our chairman, new executive committee and board of directors members are among the industry’s most forward-thinking executives and I look forward to working with them,” Prewitt said. “Their leadership, dedication and guidance will continue to have a meaningful impact on IFTA’s ongoing activities as our industry deals with the creative and business challenges that lie ahead.”