The 2011 Writers Guild Awards will take place on February 5, 2011 at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York.

The Writers Guild Of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild Of America, East (WGAE) will preside over the ceremonies honouring outstanding writing in film, television, news, radio, promotional, and graphic animation.

Eligible feature screenplays must pertain to films that screened in Los Angeles in theatres for at least one week in 2010.

The deadline for theatrical submissions is November 19 and the deadline for documentary screenplays is November 23.

Preliminary screenplay online voting begins on December 3 and the theatrical eligibility period for original/adapted/documentary screenplays ends on December 31.

The deadline for preliminary screenplay online voting is January 3, 2011. Nominees are announced on January 4 and final voting commences on January 5.