Irwin Winkler, theOscar-winning producer and director whose credits include Rocky, Raging Bull and Goodfellas, will receive the 2004 American Society of Cinematographers Board ofGovernors Award at the 18th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards in LosAngeles on Feb 8 2004.

The annual honour is theonly ASC award for non-cinematographers and goes to "an individual who has madesignificant and memorable contributions to advancing the art of film-making."

In a statement ASC awardscommittee chairman Owen Roizman said: "Irwin Winkler has earned the admirationand respect of our members for his extraordinary work as a producer anddirector of artful and meaningful films that linger in your memory long afteryou have seen them.

"He is a true artist who hasfrequently blazed new trails that many other film-makers have followed."

Starting with DoubleTrouble in 1967, Winkler launchedinto a career spanning five decades. His films have earned 12 Oscars andanother 33 nominations.

He won the Best PictureAcademy Award for Rocky in 1976with Robert Chartoff and is currently directing and co-producing De-Lovely, a musical drama based on the life of Cole Porter.

Former Board of GovernorsAward recipients include Gregory Peck, Martin Scorsese, Jodie Foster and WarrenBeatty.