Seamus McGarvey is in contention for his work on Anna Karenina, as are Claudio Miranda for Life Of Pi [pictured] and Roger Deakins for Skyfall.

Rounding out the five nominees are Danny Cohen for Les Misérables and Janusz Kaminski for Lincoln.

“The films our members have nominated are visually distinctive, and very diverse: a theatrical epic, a grand musical, an imaginative 3-D fable, a sweeping biographical drama, and a stylish spy thriller,” said ASC president Stephen Lighthill.

“What they all have in common is that each project’s cinematographer contributed captivating visuals that enhanced and elevated the storytelling.”

Deakins has been nominated 10 times before and won ASC awards for The Shawshank Redemption in 1995 and The Man Who Wasn’t There in 2002.

This is Kaminski’s fifth nomination, while Cohen, McGarvey and Miranda have each been nominated once before.

The 27th Annual American Society Of Cinematographers Awards will take place on Feb 10 in Los Angeles.