Richard Linklater’s drama that follows the life of a boy from five to 18 is in contention for four prizes at the 24th Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards by IFP. 

In addition to the competitive awards, Gotham Award Tributes will be given as previously announced to Tilda Swinton, Bennett Miller and Industry Tribute recipient Ted Sarandos of Netflix.

The nominating committee for the best actor category has voted a special jury award to Foxcatcher’s Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo and Channing Tatum for their ensemble work.

Voting will take place online from November 19-26. The winner of the Audience Award will be announced at the Gotham Awards Ceremony in New York on December 1.

“We congratulate this year’s nominees, from the master film artists to the talented newcomers, a true representation of the rich and diverse range of today’s independent filmmaking,” said IFP and Made In NY Media Center executive director Joana Vicente.

“We are grateful to our nominating committees of film critics, journalists, programmers and film curators for their dedication to selecting the nominees from so many worthy submissions.”



Birdman Or (The Unexpected Virtue Of Ignorance)
Alejandro G Iñárritu, director; Alejandro G Iñárritu, John Lesher, Arnon Milchan, James W Skotchdopole, producers

Richard Linklater, director; Richard Linklater, Cathleen Sutherland, Jonathan Sehring, John Sloss, producers

The Grand Budapest Hotel
Wes Anderson, director; Wes Anderson, Scott Rudin, Steven Rales, Jeremy Dawson, producers

Love Is Strange
Ira Sachs, director; Lucas Joaquin, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Ira Sachs, Jayne Baron Sherman, producers

Under The Skin
Jonathan Glazer, director; Nick Wechsler, James Wilson, producers


Robert Greene, director; Douglas Tirola, Susan Bedusa, Robert Greene, producers

Laura Poitras, director; Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy, Dirk Wilutzky, producers

Life Itself
Steve James, director; Zak Piper, Steve James, Garrett Basch, producers

Stephanie Spray and Pacho Velez, directors; Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Véréna Paravel, producers

Point And Shoot
Marshall Curry, director; Marshall Curry, Elizabeth Martin, Matthew Van Dyke, producers


  • Ana Lily Amirpour for A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night
  • James Ward Byrkit for Coherence
  • Dan Gilroy for Nightcrawler
  • Eliza Hittman for It Felt Like Love
  • Justin Simien for Dear White People


The 2014 Best Actor nominating panel also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award jointly to Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo and Channing Tatum for their ensemble performance in Foxcatcher

  • Bill Hader in The Skeleton Twins
  • Ethan Hawke in Boyhood
  • Oscar Isaac in A Most Violent Year
  • Michael Keaton in Birdman Or (The Unexpected Virtue Of Ignorance)
  • Miles Teller in Whiplash


  • Patricia Arquette in Boyhood
  • Gugu Mbatha-Raw in Beyond The Lights
  • Julianne Moore in Still Alice
  • Scarlett Johansson in Under The Skin
  • Mia Wasikowska in Tracks


  • Riz Ahmed in Nightcrawler
  • Macon Blair in Blue Ruin
  • Ellar Coltrane in Boyhood
  • Joey King in Wish I Was Here
  • Jenny Slate in Obvious Child
  • Tessa Thompson in Dear White People


For the fourth consecutive year, IFP presents the euphoria Calvin Klein Spotlight on Women Filmmakers ‘Live the Dream’ grant, a $25,000 cash award for an alumna of IFP’s Independent Filmmaker Labs. The grant aims to further the careers of emerging women directors by supporting the completion, distribution and audience engagement strategies of their first feature film.

The nominees are:

  • Garrett Bradley, director, Below Dreams
  • Claire Carré, director, Embers
  • Chloé Zhao, director, Songs My Brothers Taught Me.