Paul Brannigan, Chloe Pirrie, Rowan Athale, Ed Barratt, Nisha Parti among selected.

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced its first crop of BAFTA Breakthrough Brits.

The BAFTA Breakthrough Brits – chosen by a jury of industry experts – were named today as: actors Paul Brannigan, James Floyd, Tom Holland, Ade Oyefeso, Chloe Pirrie, and Sharon Rooney; writers/directors Rowan Athale and Zam Salim; writer Dominic Mitchell; game developers Oliver Clarke, Mitu Khandaker and Dan Pearce; game designers Rex Crowle and Sophia George; broadcaster Arthur Williams; and producers Ed Barratt and Nisha Parti.

The candidates will be invited to a day of networking sessions and talks at BAFTA’s London headquarters.

A number of the candidates have previously been selected as Screen Stars of Tomorrow, ,including Brannigan, Floyd, Holland, Pirrie, Oyefeso, Athale and Salim.