Five nominees announced for the European Film Awards’ debut film award.

Rufus Norris’ Broken [pictured] and Boudewijn Koole’s Kauwboy are among the five nominees for the European Film Awards’ European Discovery 2012 – Prix FIPRESCI award.

Mads Matthiesen’s 10 Timer Til Paradis (Teddy Bear), Angelina Nikonova’s Portret V Sumerkakh (Twilight Portrait) and Jan Speckenbach’s Die Vermissten (Reported Missing) are also in contention for the award, presented annually to a young and upcoming director for a first full-length feature film.

This year’s nominees were picked by a committee comprised of EFA board members Helena Danielsson (Sweden) and Els Vandevorst (the Netherlands), EFA members Pierre-Henri Deleau (France) and Jacob Neiiendam (Denmark), as well as Alin Tasciyan (Turkey), Paulo Portugal (Portugal), and Mihai Chirilov (Romania) as members of FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics.

The winner will be announced at the upcoming 25th European Film Awards, taking place in Malta on Dec 1.