BAFTA nominee Bobby Yeah [pictured] crowned Best Horror Short at ninth edition of festival, which ran Jan 6-15.

Andrew McVicar’s Compulsion and Medeni Griffiths’ Summit are among the winners at this year’s London Short Film Festival (LSFF).

Compulsion, centred around adolescent love, took home the British Council Award for Best New Short, while psychological thriller Summit, set in Texas, won the Underwire Award for Best Female Character as well as receiving a special mention for Best New Short.

Two shorts screened at the festival have received BAFTA nominations: Bobby Yeah has picked up a Best Short Animation nod, and also won the Popcorn Horror Award for Best Horror Short at this year’s LSFF; Pitch Black Heist, starring Michael Fassbender, picked up a BAFTA Best Short Film nod.

Other winners at the festival included Fritz Stolberg’s Of This, Men Shall Know Nothing which was crowned Best Experimental Short, while Srdan Keca’s Mirage won Best Short Documentary. A full list of winners can be found below.

LSFF ran Jan 6-15.

The Little White Lies Award for Best Lo-Budget Short

Special Mentions: Hogan, dir Peter Millard; Your Dog Ate My Cat, dir Claire Winter; Smoga, dir Ninian Doff.

Winner: An Oral Fixation, dir Kevin Gaffney

The Animate Projects Award for Best Experimental Short

Special Mention: Baroque, dir Ruth Paxton

Winner: Of This, Men Shall Know Nothing, dir Fritz Stolberg.

The Dirty Looks Award for Best Music Short

Special Mention: Staring Out Of The Window, dir Ninian Doff

Winner: House, dir Prano Bailey-Bond

The Student Film Festival London Award for Best Student Short

Special Mentions: For Megan, dir Andrea Harkin; Mirage, dir Srdan Keca

Winner: Life And Stuff, dir Kumar Satkunarasa

The Popcorn Horror Award for Best Horror Short

Special Mentions: The Organ Grinder’s Monkey, dir Jake and Dinos Chapman; Tumult, dir Johnny Barrington

Winner: Bobby Yeah, dir Robert Morgan

The Sheffield Doc/Fest Award for Best Short Documentary

Special Mentions: Achante, dir Emily McMehen; Dylan, dir Ania Winiarska

Winner: Mirage, dir Srdan Keca

The LoCo Award for Best Comedy Short

Special mentions: Tequila, dir Jon Drever; Tumult, dir Johnny Barrington

Winner: All Consuming Love (Man In A Cat), dir Louis Hudson

The Underwire Award for Best Female Character

Special Mentions: Cinderela, dir Magali Magistry; Where Are They Now?, dir Joanna Coates.

Winner: Summit, dir Medeni Griffiths

The British Council Award for Best New Short

Special Mention: Summit, dir Medeni Griffiths

Winner: Compulsion, dir Andrew McVicar