Andrea Arnold’s Fish Tank picked up four awards at the 30th Annual London Film Critics’ Circle Awards, including best British film, whilst Jacques Audiard’s A Prophet was named film of the year.

Arnold was named best British director, with the best supporting actor award going to Michael Fassbender.  Newcomer Katie Jarvis received the NSPCC Award for young British performer of the year.

Oscar nominees Colin Firth and Carey Mulligan scooped the British actor and actress of the year awards for their respective roles in A Single Man and An Education

Mo’Nique was named actress of the year for her performance in Lee Daniels’ Precious, whilst Christoph Waltz was named best actor for Inglourious Basterds.

Kathryn Bigelow took the director of the year award for her Iraq war drama The Hurt Locker; while Swedish horror Let the Right one In won foreign language film of the year.

The In The Loop team - Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci and Toni Roche – won the best screenplay award, while Duncan Jones won the breakthrough British film-maker award for science fiction Moon.

Quentin Tarantino, who attended the ceremony at the Landmark Hotel in London last night, won the Dilys Powell Award for excellence in cinema. The awards are held in aid of the National Society For The Protection

Jason Solomin, chairman of the London Film Critics Circle, said: “This was a brilliant night for both British and international cinema. It’s hugely significant that the London critics awarded film of the year to the French film A Prophet. This is a victory for world cinema and shows a refreshing open-mindedness to judge all film on equal footing, from giant Hollywood blockbusters to classy European prison movies.”