The Hurt Locker, Sherlock Holmes and Avatar were the major winners at the Art Directors Guild (ADG) awards in Los Angeles on Saturday [13].

The Hurt Locker triumphed in the 14th Annual Excellence in 2009 Production Design Awards contemporary film category, while Sherlock Holmes claimed the period film and Avatar was named best fantasy.

Honorary awards went to production designer Terence Marsh for lifetime achievement and Warren Beatty for Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery. Production designer Michael Baugh also received a Creative Leadership Award.  

Malcolm F Brown, Bob Keene and Ferdinando Scarfiotti were inducted into the hall of fame.