The International Competition Jury for the 65th Venice Film Festival has recruited Russian screenwriter Juriy Arabov, Italian actress Valeria Golino, British visual artist Douglas Gordon, US film-maker John Landis; New Argentine Cinema pioneer Lucrecia Martel, and Hong Kong director Johnnie To.

As previously reported, Wim Wenders is the International Jury president at the festival (Aug 27-Sept 6). At the festival's closing, the Jury will honour features in competition with prizes the Golden Lion for Best Film, the Silver Lion for Best Director, the Special Jury Prize, the Coppa Volpi for Best Actor, the Coppa Volpi for Best Actress, the Marcello Mastroianni Prize for Best New Young Actor or Actress, the Osella for Best Technical Contribution, and the Osella for Best Screenplay.

Also the Orizzonti (Horizons) Jury will consist of Belgian film-maker Chantal Akerman (President), French critic Nicole Brenez, Italian actress and documentarian Barbara Cupisti, Spanish director Jose Luis Guerin and Estonian film-maker Veiko 'unpuu. That section is devoted to hard-to-classify films and the jury will select two winners for the Orizzonti Prize and Orizzonti Doc Prize. 'unpuu himself won the prize last year with Autumn Ball.

Also, the festival has confirmed that the International Corto Cortissimo Jury (short film competition) will be comprised of US director Amos Poe (President), Italian critic Gianni Rondolino and Portuguese producer Joana Vicente.

That jury will award the Corto Cortissimo Lion, the Premio UIP Venezia for best European short film and a Special Mention.

The festival is again directed by Marco Müller and organised by the Biennale di Venezia, chaired by Paolo Baratta.