Little Miss Sunshine picked up four honours at this years Spirit Awards, including best film and best directors.

Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris' Oscar-nominated film also picked up awards for Michael Arndt's screenplay, and for Alan Arkin as best supporting actor.

Both best actor (Ryan Gosling) and best actress (Shareeka Epps) honours were taken by Half Nelson.

Spirt Awards

Best Film
Little Miss Sunshine

Best Director
Jonathan Dayton/ Valerie Faris (Little Miss Sunshine)

Best First Feature
Sweet Land

Best Screenplay
Jason Reitman (Thank You For Smoking)

Best First Screenplay
Michael Arndt (Little Miss Sunshine)

Best Female Lead
Shareeka Epps (Half Nelson)

Best Male Lead
Ryan Gosling (Half Nelson)

Best Supporting Female
Frances McDormand (Friends With Money)

Best Supporting Male
Alan Arkin (Little Miss Sunshine)

Best Cinematography
Guillermo Navarro (Pan's Labyrinth)

Best Documentary
The Road To Guantanamo

Best Foreign Film
The Lives Of Others

John Cassavetes Award
Richard Glatzer/ Wash Westmoreland/ Anne Clements (Quinceanera)

Someone To Watch Award
Julia Loktev (Day Night Day Night)

Truer Than Fiction Award
Adele Horn (The Tailenders)

Producers Award
Howard Gertler/ Tim Perell (Shortbus)

Special Distinction Award
Laura Dern/ David Lynch

Special Award
Robert Altman