Of the ten films, at least three will make up the shortlist for this year’s LUX Prize.

The ten films pre-selected for The European Parliament’s film award, The LUX Prize, have been announced. Of the ten films, at least three will make up a shortlist for the LUX Prize 2010.

The final films will be announced during the Venice International Film Festival in September and will screen at the festival before being shown at the European Parliament from 26 October to 19 November.

The 736 Members of the European Parliament will vote on the winner and the award will be given at the European Parliament on November 24 at its headquarters in Strasbourg.

The LUX Prize was established in 2007 and aims to characterise European cinema by selecting films that offer a glimpse of Europeans, their lives and identities. Last year Philippe Lioret’s Welcome won the award and went on to receive financial support from the European Parliament. It followed 17 year-old Bilal’s quest from Iraq to Europe in order to find his love in England.

The ten films in the 2010 official selection are:

- Filippos Tsitos ‘s Akadimia Platonos

- Szabolcs Hajdu ‘s Bibliothèque Pascal

- Feo Aladag’s Die Fremde

-Olivier Masset-Depasse’s Illégal

-Sharunas Bartas’ Indigène d’Eurasie

-Luca Guadagnino’s Io sono l’amore

-Pietro Marcello’s La bocca del lupo

-Jessica Hausner’s Lourdes

-Calin Peter Netzer’s Medalia de onoare

-Tobias Lindholm and Michael Noer’s R