Cristian Mungiu's 4 Months, 3 Weeks And 2 Days won the Hollywood Film Festival's fourth annual Hollywood World Award backed by Screen International.
Mungiu's film won the Palme d'Or at Cannes this year and is Romania's submission for the foreign-language Academy Award.

Mungiu was unable to attend the Hollywood Film Awards ceremony in Beverly Hills last night [22] but did send a message of thanks.

'I cannot thank enough the film critics and the film journalists for the tremendous effect their articles had on the fate of this film,' the message read. 'Your stories and awards are helping this film reach audiences all over the world, which, I believe, is every film-maker's ultimate goal.

'This is my first ever American award for any of my films, and, considering the outstanding quality of the other films you shortlisted, I can only feel proud for receiving this prize, which hopefully will be a recommendation for the American audience to try to see this film, which will reach them starting next January.' IFC will handle the release.
The nominees for the 2007 Hollywood World Award were: Anton Corbijn's Control (UK); Alexander Sokurov's Alexandra (Russia); Eran Kolirin's The Band's Visit (Israel); Ulrich Seidl's Import/Export (Austria); Julian Schnabel's The Diving Bell And The Butterfly (France); Fatih Akin's The Edge Of Heaven (Auf Der Anderen Seite) (Germany-Turkey); Carlos Reygadas' Silent Light (Stellet Licht) (Mexico-France-Netherlands); Lee Chang-dong's Secret Sunshine (South
Korea); and Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud's Persepolis (France).

Zach Snyder's 300 won the Hollywood Film Of The Year Award voted on by
the public.

Previously announced winners were as follows:
Actor Of The Year - Richard Gere (The Hunting Party, I'm Not There)
Actress Of The Year - Marion Cotillard (La Vie En Rose)
Supporting Actor Of The Year - John Travolta (Hairspray)
Supporting Actress Of The Year - Jennifer Connelly (Reservation Road)
Ensemble Acting Of The Year - Cast of Hairspray
Screenwriter Of The Year - Christopher Hampton (Atonement)
Breakthrough Director Of The Year - Ben Affleck (Gone Baby Gone)
Breakthrough Actor Of The Year - Casey Affleck (The Assassination Of
Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford, Gone Baby Gone)
Breakthrough actress Of The Year - Ellen Page (Juno)
Breakthrough screenwriter Of The Year - Diablo Cody (Juno)
Director Of The Year - Marc Forster (The Kite Runner)
Producers Of The Year - Neil Meron and Craig Zadan (Hairspray, The Bucket List)
Animation Of The Year - Brad Bird (Ratatouille)
Cinematographer Of The Year - Stephen Goldblatt (Charlie Wilson's War)
Production designer Of The Year - Dante Ferretti (S weeney Todd: The
Demon Barber Of Fleet Street)
Editor Of The Year - Joe Hutshing (Lions For Lambs)
Composer Of The Year - Mark Isham (Lions For Lambs, In The Valley Of
Elah, Reservation Road)
Visual effects Of The Year - Scott Farrar (Transformers).