The National Society Of Film Critics will stage its 43rd annual voting meeting for the best films from 2008 on January 3, 2009 at Sardi's in New York City. Results will be announced later that evening.

Sixty-three members are eligible to vote on any film that opens in the US during the year 2008. There is no nomination process: the members meet, vote using a weighted ballot, and announce all on the same day. The current chair of the Society is David Sterritt.

Awards go to best picture, actor, actress, supporting actress, supporting actor, director, screenplay and cinematography. Should the Society choose, awards may also be handed out for best nonfiction film, foreign-language film, production design, experimental work, Film Heritage award and Best Film Still Awaiting American Distribution.