babyteeth 2

Source: Screen Australia


Shannon Murphy’s drama Babyteeth has swept the board at the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) awards, winning nine prizes including best film and all four acting awards.

The Australian title – which premiered in Competition at the Venice Fil Festival in 2019 – was nominated for 13 awards, also taking home best direction for Murphy, best screenplay for Rita Kalnejais, best original score for Amanda Brown and best casting for Kirsty McGregor and Stevie Ray.

Other film winners included Universal Pictures’ The Invisible Man, which picked up best cinematography, best editing and best sound; and True History Of The Kelly Gang, which won best production design, best costume design and best hair and makeup.

Babyteeth follows a seriously-ill teenager who falls in love with a drug dealer, to the chagrin of her middle-class parents.

Following its Venice debut – where Toby Wallace won the Marcelo Mastroianni award for best young actor or actress - it went on to play festivals including Hamburg, Zurich, London and Rotterdam.

It was released by IFC Films in the US in June 2020; Universal Pictures in Australia and New Zealand in July; and Picturehouse Entertainment in the UK and Ireland in August.

On the TV side, immigration mini-series Stateless was the big winner with 13 prizes. It is co-created by and stars Cate Blanchett, who won best guest or supporting actress in a television drama.

The show was released by the Australian Broadcasting Corporation in Australia in March; it debuted in international territories on Netflix in July.

The AACTA awards were split into two physical events, both held in Sydney, Australia; physical tickets were limited to one ticket per nomination per production, to comply with Australian Covid-19 regulations. 

AACTA awards 2020 - selected winners

Best film – Babyteeth, dir Shannon Murphy

Best direction – Shannon Murphy, Babyteeth

Best lead actor – Toby Wallace, Babyteeth

Best lead actress – Eliza Scanlen, Babyteeth

Best supporting actor – Ben Mendelsohn, Babyteeth

Best supporting actress – Essie Davis, Babyteeth

Best screenplay – Rita Kalnejais, Babyteeth

Best cinematography – Stefan Duscio, The Invisible Man

Best editing – Andy Canny, The Invisible Man

Best sound – P.K. Hooker, Will Files, Paul ‘Salty’ Brincat, The Invisible Man

Best original score – Amanda Brown, Babyteeth

Best production design – Karen Murphy, Rebecca Cohen, True History Of The Kelly Gang

Best costume design – Alice Babidge, True History Of The Kelly Gang

Best casting – Kirsty McGregor, Stevie Ray, Babyteeth

Best visual effects or animation – Tim Crosbie, Joy Wu, Jason Troughton, Tom Wood, Julian Hutchens, The Eight Hundred

Best hair and makeup – Kirsten Veysey, True History Of The Kelly Gang

Best indie film – Standing Up For Sunny, dir. Steve Vidler

Best documentary – Firestarter – The Story Of Bangarra, dirs. Nel Minchin, Wayne Blair

Best Asian film – Better Days (China-HK) dir. Derek Tsang

Best drama series – Mystery Road