The winners of the inaugural Screen Nation Digital-iS Media Awards for short films and other online content were announced this week at Google HQ in London.

The awards presented on Dec 17 honoured the best black online content creators from the UK and internationally and worked in conjunction with the Vox Africa TV channel. Sponsorship came from Google and Afrinolly.

Types of media rewarded included short films, web series, music promos, blogs, magazines and social networks.

The award for Favourite short film, voted for by viewers on the day of the awards, went to Sebastien Thiel’s Illegal Activity. The film follows Winston, a drug dealer on a rough housing estate whose trade has devastating effects on the area.

Favourite actor went to Zephryn Tate for his work in webseries Brothers With No Game, which follows the failed social and romantic lives of four twenty-somethings and also won Favourite ensemble.

The Favourite actress award was won by Letitia Hector for webseries Venus vs Mars, which went on to win Favourite web series overall.

Charles Thompson, CEO of Screen Nation said: “These awards clearly demonstrate the wealth of talent operating in the digital arena. It’s now more important than ever that online content and platforms are celebrated in the same way as traditional media as digital is the way forward. We look forward to seeing the talent and success 2014 will bring.”

Highlights of the awards will be shown on Vox Africa (Sky218) at a later date, and the full list of awards can be seen below.

Favourite Web Series Actor
Zephryn Taitte (Brothers With No Game)

Favourite Web Series Actress
Letitia Hector (Venus vs Mars) 

Favourite Web Series Ensemble
Brothers With No Game 

Favourite Web Series
Venus vs Mars

Favourite Short Film (judged by attendees on the day)
Illegal Activity (Sebastian Thiel)

Favourite Music Promo produced by Luti Media
Daps – Ian Wright (Produced by Luti Fagbenle, Directed by Fabien Montique)

Favourite Youth Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag

Favourite Arts & Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag
The LaLa Report

Digital Vanguard Awards
Luti Fagbenle
Jamal Edwards