bifa winners

Source: Vertigo / Picturehouse Entertainment

‘Boiling Point’, ‘The Souvenir Part II’

Philip Barantini’s restaurant drama Boiling Point and Joanna Hogg’s sequel The Souvenir Part II head the craft winners for the 2021 British Independent Film Awards (Bifas), with three awards each.

Single-shot feature Boiling Point, which scored the joint-most nominations this year with 11, won in best cinematography for Matthew Lewis; best casting for Carolyn McLeod; and best sound for James Drake, Rob Entwistle and Kiff McManus. 

The Souvenir Part II won in best costume for Screen Star of Tomorrow Grace Snell; best editing for Helle Le Fevre; and best production design for Stephane Collonge. All three were Bifa-nominated in 2019 for their work on the first film, The Souvenir.

Mike Knights, Steven Bray, Dan Martin and Leigh Cranston won best effects for their work on Rob Savage’s roadtrip horror DASHCAM; Connie Farr and Harry Escott won best music for Clio Barnard’s Ali & Ava; while Vickie Lang, Kristyan Mallett and Donald McInnes won best make-up and hair design for Will Sharpe’s The Electrical Life Of Louis Wain.

Boiling Point is competing in seven further categories with The Souvenir Part II in another five at the main Bifa ceremony, which will take place in-person in London on Sunday, December 5.

Bifa 2021 craft winners

Best casting – Carolyn McLeod, Boiling Point

Best cinematography – Matthew Lewis, Boiling Point

Best costume design – Grace Snell, The Souvenir Part II

Best editing – Helle Le Fevre, The Souvenir Part II

Best effects – Mike Knights, Steven Bray, Dan Martin, Leigh Cranston, DASHCAM

Best make-up and hair design – Vickie Lang, Kristyan Mallett, Donald McInnes, The Electrical Life of Louis Wain

Best music – Connie Farr, Harry Escott, Ali & Ava

Best production design – Stephane Collonge, The Souvenir Part II

Best sound – James Drake, Rob Entwistle, Kiff McManus, Boiling Point