Edinburgh, Fribourg to fete Iranian cinema.

The Edinburgh and Fribourg film festivals are to fete Iranian cinema with a retrospective called The History of Iranian Cinema by Its Creators.

A total of 14 Iranian directors have selected 27 films, from 1933 to 2006, as part of the strand which will launch at Fribourg next spring and continue at Edinburgh in June.

The directors are:

  • Mania Akbari
  • Kaveh Bakhtiari
  • Bahram Beyzaie
  • Asghar Farhadi
  • Sepideh Farsi
  • Mahmoud Ghaffari
  • Bahman Ghobadi
  • Mohsen Makhmalbaf
  • Shahram Mokri
  • Amir Naderi
  • Jafar Panahi
  • Shirin Neshat
  • Rafi Pitts
  • Mohammad Rasoulof.

Some of them will attend Fribourg to present their choices.

The list of titles has not yet been announced.