hamaguchi ainouz

The Berlin International Film Festival has confirmed its full juries for the 2022 edition, with Japanese filmmaker Ryusuke Hamaguchi and Brazil’s Karim Ainouz joining president M. Night Shyamalan on the main international jury.

Also on the seven-person international jury are German director Anne Zohra Berrached; Tunisian-French producer Said Ben Said; Zimbabwean writer Tsitsi Dangaremba; and Danish actress Connie Nielsen.

The international jury will select the winners of the Golden and Silver Bears from the 18 films playing in Competition. Shyamalan was selected as jury president in October last year.

A three-person jury for the Encounters section consists of Chiara Maranon, director of content at film platform Mubi; UK artist and filmmaker Ben Rivers; and Swiss filmmaker Silvan Zurcher.

The Encounters jury will choose the winners of best film, best director and a special jury award.

Gaia Furrer, artistic director of Venice’s Giornate degli Autori; Sri Lankan filmmaker Vimukthi Jayasundara; and Afghan director Sharhbanoo Sadat will sit on the jury for best first feature film. The Documentary Award jury consists of Chinese director Wang Bing, Lebanese sound designer Rana Eid and German cinematographer Susanne Schule.

Finally, there are three-person juries for each of the two Generation sections: Daniela Cajias, Nicola Jones and Samuel Kishi Leopo for Generation Kplus; and Paolo Bertolin, Rubika Shah and Dash Shaw for Generation 14plus.

The 72nd Berlinale will run in-person in Berlin from February 10-16, with awards in the above categories given on the 16. Repeat screenings of festival films will take place until February 20.