The Samuel Goldwyn Foundation president Samuel Goldwyn Jr has announced the five finallists and judges for the 2014 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards.

The finallists in the awards, now in its 59th year, are: 

Kevin Human (UCLA), Hell Is Other Cowboys;

Han-Yee Ling (UCLA), Spaghetti Bridges;

Dan Patrick (UCLA), Village Of Sweet Dreams;

Teresa Sullivan and AJ Marchisello (UCLA), Doubleblind; and

Gaia Violo (UCLA), Absentia.

This year’s judges are: Goldwyn Award-winning filmmaker Allison Anders; producer and former Sony president of worldwide home entertainment, digital distribution and product acquisitions Ben Feingold; and Screen International US editor Jeremy Kay.

Samuel Goldwyn Sr launched the awards in 1955 at UCLA to encourage young film, stage and television writers. 

The awards are open to all students at any University Of California campus and cover screenplays, teleplays and stage plays.

Past winners include Francis Ford Coppola, Eric Roth, and Jonathan Kellerman.

“The Samuel Goldwyn Foundation has always been an ardent supporter of great screenwriters, many of whom have come from the UCLA School Of Theater, Film And Television,” said Dean Teri Schwartz.

“We are so appreciative of the Goldwyn family’s generosity and vision, and delighted that all five finallists of the writing awards this year are scholars from UCLA TFT.”

The $15,000 first prize, $7,500 second prize, $4,000 third prize, $2,000 and $1,000 honourable mentions will be awarded on November 3 at UCLA.